Los crímenes de Alicia

Los crímenes de Alicia / The Alice Murders

Novel , 2019

Destino

Pages: 336

Nadal Prize 2019

Who and why is using Lewis Carroll references to commit murders?

A young Oxford research fellow working with the Lewis Carroll Society finds an unpublished page in the diaries of the author of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, mysteriously torn out and lost since 1863. However, as she prepares to publish her extraordinary discovery, which offers a new perspective on a delicate, controversial chapter in Carroll’s life, the girl is savagely run down by a car that flees the scene.

Just as they did in The Oxford Murders, the partnership formed by Arthur Seldom, distinguished professor of Logic, and a young Mathematics student from Argentina will try to solve a series of macabre murders inspired by the fantasy book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland. In this case, the honourable, eccentric members of the Lewis Carroll Society are the victims as well as the prime suspects.

A fascinating book that takes the detective novel into the literary realm, in the tradition of Borges and Umberto Eco.

With a smooth and precise prose, Guillermo Martínez, author of The Oxford Murders, has written a fascinating novel that in the tradition of Borges and Umberto Eco brings this detective story to the literary field.

Book Trailer Los crímenes de Alicia.

"With Los crímenes de Alicia, Guillermo Martínez reinvents the detective novel, endowing it with an intellectual depth and a formidable literary greatness. A fascinating story that is destined to become a classic." Rosa Montero 

"Guillermo Martínez has written a fantastic mystery novel." J. Ernesto Ayala-Dip, Babelia, El País