The new André Malraux Prize was awarded for the first time in 2018, to honour a novel and an essay committed to "the service of the human condition" each year. The winners were announced on 23 November, anniversary of the death of French writer and intellectual André Malraux (1901-1976), a courageous human rights activist.

The first novel to win the André Malraux Prize has been El monarca de las sombras by Javier...

Read more

Isabel Allende became the first Spanish-language author to receive the lifetime achievement award for distinguished contribution to American letters (National Book Award), which has previously been won by Arthur Miller, John Updike, Toni Morrison, Joan Didion and Tom Wolfe.

In her speech, Allende said she was accepting the award on “behalf of millions of people like myself who have come to this country in search of...

Read more

Fernando del Paso died Wednesday at his home in Guadalajara. Born in Mexico City in 1935, del Paso is considered a son of the Latin American post-boom and one of the most widely recognised authors in contemporary Mexican literature, whose works recreate some of the most universal chapters in Mexican history.

In his youth, Fernando del Paso quit medical school due to his aversion to blood and guts. In 1966 he...

Read more

La Pléiade will publish a selection of the best works by António Lobo Antunes. The collection belongs to Gallimard, and owes its prestige to the select group of classics featured, as well as its unmistakably elegant binding.

Following in the footsteps of Philip Roth and Mario Vargas Llosa, António Lobo Antunes has joined the small group of writers who’ve received this honour during their lifetimes.

Admired by Georg...

Read more

The writer Rodrigo Blanco Calderón (Caracas, 1981) won the Venezuelan 'Premio de la Crítica Ficción Breve' for his novel The Night. The book, published by Editorial Madera Fina and by Alfaguara, has the political and social crisis in Venezuela as background.

The title 'The Night' alludes to the constant blackouts of the city of Caracas in whose night, doubly dark, danger and violence coexist with the dreams and...

Read more

The writer Clara Usón  won the Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz Prize for her novel The Shy Assasin. The award is given within the framework of the International Book Fair of Guadalajara and its purpose is the dissemination of literature written by women (unlike many mixed awards, which are intended to contribute literature written by men).

The jury, composed of Ana García Bergua, Claudia Piñeiro and Daniel Centeno,...

Read more

Santiago Posteguillo (Valencia, 1967) won the Planeta Prize 2018 for his novel Yo, Julia. This is the most valuable literary award on the Spanish-language market (€601,000).

Yo, Julia is a historical novel based on the life of Julia Domna, one of the most relevant, fascinating, and unknown female characters in the history of Rome.

Wife and mother of emperors, Julia Domna (170-217), of Syrian origin, was an outsider...

Read more

Javier Cercas recently released novel, El monarca de las sombras (Actes Sud, with translation by Aleksandar Grujicic) has received exceptionally enthusiastic reviews in France.

Hailed by the French critics as one of the great literary events of the autumn, El monarca de las sombras has been longlisted for the awards: André-Malraux, Médicis étranger and Fémina étranger, and has also been included in the list of the...

Read more

“Nunca hablo de dinero con los editores y los productores de cine, porque tengo un agente literario que habla por mí mejor que yo; primero, porque es mujer, y después, porque es catalana. Muchos editores la detestan por la ferocidad con que defiende los centavos de los escritores, sobre todo de los jóvenes y más necesitados, y el día que no la detesten empezaré a sospechar que se pasó al bando contrario.” 


Read more

The writer Marilyn Bobes (Havana, 1955) has been awarded the first Guantanamera Award for Cuban Literature for her book, Alguien tiene que llorar otra vez.

The award is given by Editorial Guantanamera, specialized in current Cuban narrative, and integrated into the Lantia group, and has the support of Carmen Balcells Literary Agency.

"I feel a tremendous happiness for this award, I trust that it will help all my...

Read more